Heavier than a rugby player… =/

 

DOB 26th Feb 1977
Height 1.70 m (5′ 7″)
Weight 77 kg (12 st 1 lb)

 

I don’t know if you know this, but I’m from Brazil, the land of football. I’m not a big fan of football, though, unless we’re talking about watching the World Cup (yes, Brazilians can be crazy supporters!). When I moved to the UK – Dear Hubby is Welsh! -, I became a real fan of rugby. I’m not sure if it was because I was actually able to go to the stadium and watch a match (try this in Brazil and you might go back home with a black eye…), or if it had anything to do with the players, who are usually so cute… I had to confess to Dear Hubby that I had a crush on Shane Williams… I know… a grown up with a teenage crush… Embarrassing.

Anyway, I was once watching a rugby match with my husband on TV  when they showed the information about the players on the screen. I was never too keen on weighing myself or telling people how much I weight (only telling the approximate thing), but what I saw on that day totally shocked me! I was heavier than a rugby player! And shorter! OK, I might just be too hard on myself; that player is the smallest player in the team. All right, but still… how can you cope with your favourite rugby player (and the cutest one) being only 12st 1lb (Dear Hubby weighs even less than that!), when you are over 14st??? I’ll tell you what if felt like, right? It felt like I had been placed right in the middle of a scrum, or that I had been tackled by 5 massive players and just couldn’t breathe underneath them all! I have to tell you… that sucked!

I decided then that it was too much! I couldn’t go on like that. I had to do something about my weight…

I didn’t do much… for a long time… Until my mother passed away. Cancer. I hate this word. =(  And I promised my father that I would lose weight. And every time I speak with him on the phone (he lives in Brazil), he asks me “how it’s going”… How can I not comply…?

Third day of Slimming World… Have done good so far. Am feeling much better, even my mood has improved! It is worth it! I just know now I need to treat my body with love and respect.

To a great week to us all, and to loads of pounds shed!

Dani.

Leave a Reply

